‘Mum’ Book Review

 

reviewsized
We are big readers in our house! I was always a book loving child, and at the moment, the smallest child is obsessed with books (or ‘bops,’ as he calls them.) Both children have had bedtime stories every night from just a few months old.

I was so pleased to be asked to review a new book from authors and illustrators Morty Sey, and Scott Chegg. There’s only so many times you can get through the boxset of ‘That’s Not My …Biscuit/Grape/Toenail/Sanity (delete as appropriate,) before the need to mix it up a bit arises! The book, entitled ‘Mum,’ covers something I have coming my way very soon-the horror of the school run…!

It was a lovely touch that the authors had signed the book, and written a sweet little message for the boys, just inside the cover.

resized2

The first thing I noticed about the book was that the pictures are quite abstract, and a lot different to the usual type of pictures in the books we normally have at home. However, the pictures were a huge source of amusement and discussion for the children, and they especially loved this one, and enjoyed likening my hair to this mum in the book (clearly they are misktaken…!) There is also a lot of block, bright colouring, which I think appeals to children.

resized3

There are also funny, tongue in cheek pictures that appeal to the sense of humour of the parents reading the story!

resized4

 

The story is also written in rhyme-which I think must be a favourite of all children, it seems to help them pick up the words easily, and the sing-song way you end up reading the story seems to keep them really engaged (or amused, which ever way, rhyming stories are always a hit in our house!)

The story isn’t your average children’s story either-there are no fairytales and happy endings here! This is a comedic look at the frazzled mum, trying to do her best on the school run-I liked this mum because I could really relate to the struggles! (Although I really do hope my hair looks better than hers…!) and any story about a mum keeping it real, is a winner for me!

As for the boys, the abstract pictures and chance to ask questions about ‘glaring,’ ‘stress,’ and ‘filling a nappy,’ and other matters that I have to contend with on a daily basis, have proved a hit-they ask for the book every time they see it…!

resized5

You can currently buy ‘Mum’ on Amazon priced at £6.99.

You can also follow the authors on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

I was sent this book for free, in return for an honest review. All opinions remain my own, (and those of my children!)

 

 

Share:

25 Comments

  1. June 6, 2016 / 6:26 am

    My hair definitely looks like this! #bigpinklink

  2. June 6, 2016 / 8:38 am

    I love the picture on the front of the book! We’re big readers in our house too, always nice to have something new to read. And thankfully we’ve grown out of the ‘that’s not my…’ series. Not come across ‘that’s not my sanity’ yet, but I feel there’s a gap in the market for tired parents 😉
    We love Elys Dolan’s books (nuts in space and Steven Seagull – always good for a laugh and plenty of jokes that adults get which makes the bedtime reading a bit less of a chore!. #bigpinklink

  3. June 6, 2016 / 8:39 am

    Looks a good book and you’re right the pictures are quite abstract which probably helps with the general discussion around the content. I like those sort of little quirks with books, it makes them stand out more.

    mainy

    #bigpinklink

  4. June 6, 2016 / 8:44 am

    This looks hilarious! x #bigpinklink

  5. June 6, 2016 / 9:09 am

    haha! looks like a fun book – my girls are a bit big for this now though, although I could always get it for the sister who has it all to come with the nephew lol #bigpinklink

  6. June 6, 2016 / 10:12 am

    ooooh this looks good! I’m currently on the lookout for some new books for the threenager and this one sounds just like me! thanks for sharing this great review #bigpinklink

  7. June 6, 2016 / 1:57 pm

    oh wow – a fab five star review from the children then if they ask for it every time they see it! Love the fact they call them bops! better that sticks now forever. We still call the microwave the milkywave after my daughter called it that! #BigPinkLink

  8. Baby Anon
    June 6, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    This looks brilliant. I love the illustrations and the rhyming text (love a good verse). I like the fact it’s funny and would appeal to children and adults by the looks of things. Might take a look – could be a nice gift for a pregnant lady we know x #bigpinklink

  9. June 6, 2016 / 2:49 pm

    I was always into reading and making them love reading as well. I loved this set of poetry books by Shell Silverstein. #bigpinklink

  10. June 6, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    That is my hair! I really like the look of that book, a bit different from the sickly sweet books that we seem to have rather a lot of. I do like books that rhyme as well as I think it encourages little ones to read :- )I am going to have to look this one up next time I am on Amazon 🙂 #bigpinklink

  11. June 6, 2016 / 6:48 pm

    Finally! A children’s book in which I could star! I have always pretended not to notice the disappointment on my tots’ face when they compare the mumsy mums in all the books we currently read, to their slightly battered and frazzled version.
    Sounds great! xx
    #bigpinklink

  12. June 6, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    This looks absolutely brilliant! I’m putting it on my wishlist, thanks for sharing and hosting #bigpinklink xx

  13. June 6, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    I HAVE to read this. Thanks for the tip off! I might add it to my own birthday wish list! 🙂 #bigpinklink

  14. June 6, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    Love that it is written in Rhyme!! #bigpinklink

  15. June 7, 2016 / 10:03 am

    How gorgeous that they signed it for you – love the personal touch! I will have to have a lookout for this book for my niece, its her birthday this month and I think she’d love this. Thanks for sharing #bigpinklink

  16. June 7, 2016 / 4:12 pm

    I like the idea of getting children to understand what a mammoth undertaking it is to get them where they need to be , relatively clean and fully clothed.

    Good pictures too. At first glance I thought the alarm clocks were buttons like Coraline and had a brief shudder!

    #bigpinklink

  17. June 7, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    This is a brilliant review! I think I would see myself in it!! Although I too hope that my hair is less frazzled then this mums’!!! Hope you’re enjoying your break!! #bigpinklink

  18. June 7, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    This book looks great! Fab illustrations, and the mum’s hair has clearly taken inspiration from mine…! I’m intrigued to know what the “cool names” are…! 😉
    #bigpinklink

  19. June 8, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    That’s so lovely that they signed ot for you. Looks like a fun and unusual picture book! #bigpinklink

  20. June 8, 2016 / 7:28 pm

    This looks really good – the mum illustrations are shockingly realistic! It’s one to bookmark for when my little one is older x Thanks for hosting#bigpinklink

  21. June 10, 2016 / 1:03 pm

    “while the girl stands wondering what’s up with mom’s hair?” – that line is so funny and enough to intrigue me. Frazzled hair, yep, that’s most of us, okay, me.

  22. Morty Sey
    June 14, 2016 / 12:54 pm

    Wow… What lovely comments from you all!
    Thanks for taking an interest👍
    You can find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to follow the progress of the next title in this series of daily family dramas… “Dad…”
    Cheers
    Morty x

    • Morty Sey
      June 14, 2016 / 12:56 pm

      Oh….😳
      And of course!
      Thank you for such a wonderful review xxx